Florida Educators of the Year Recognized On-Field During FSU Football Game

A group of individuals on-field at a football game

From left to right: Anastasios Kamoutsas, Sherrie Raulerson, Dr. Rick Surrency, Brent Frazier,  Dean Damon Andrew, FSU First Lady Jai Vartikar, FSU President Richard McCullough, Melissa Matz, Angela Patton, James Kendall Busscher, Adrianna Swearingen, FSU Vice President and Director of Athletics Michael Alford.

The FSU College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences honored Florida educators of the year at the FSU Football game vs. Syracuse at Doak Campbell Stadium on October 14, 2023. The recognition has become an annual tradition for the college as a key part of Project ElevatED, which aims to recruit, train and retain more educators in the workforce and recognize them for the important work they do. In addition to the educators of the year, selected by the Florida Department of Education through its Teacher of the Year Program, all current and former preK through 12 professionals were asked to stand for a round of applause.

The 2023 educators recognized on the field were:

  • James Kendall Busscher, 2023 Florida School-Related Employee of the Year
  • Brent Frazier, 2023 Florida Principal of the Year
  • Melissa Matz, 2023 Florida Teacher of the Year
  • Angela Patton, 2023 Florida Assistant Principal of the Year
  • Dr. Rick Surrency, 2023 Florida Superintendent of the Year
  • Adrianna Swearingen, 2024 Florida Teacher of the Year

The group was joined on the field by Richard McCullough, FSU President; Jai Vartikar, FSU First Lady; Michael Alford, Vice President and Director of Athletics at FSU; Damon Andrew, Dean of the FSU College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences; Sherrie Raulerson, President of the Florida Association of District School Superintendents; and Anastasios Kamoutsas, Florida Department of Education Chief of Staff.