2020 COE Distinguished Alumni Awards

Jennie Kroeger

This evening, we were proud to honor eight graduates of the FSU College of Education who have made a positive impact in their respective fields:

  • Trailblazer Award: Abria Ja’Mar Harris (mathematics/math teaching B.S. ’13), mathematics specialist for Gadsden County Public Schools 
  • Trailblazer Award: Amelia Parnell (higher education Ph.D. ’10), vice president for research and policy at NASPA — Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
  • Distinguished Alumni — Higher Education Administration: M.L. “Cissy” Petty (higher education M.S. ’80, Ph.D. ’85), vice president of student affairs and dean of students at George Washington University
  • Distinguished Alumni — K-12 Administration: William V. Husfelt, III (social studies education B.S. ’80, educational leadership/administration M.S. ’91), superintendent of Bay District Schools in Panama City, Florida
  • Distinguished Alumni — Postsecondary Systems — University: Paul M. Pedersen (physical education Ph.D. ’00), professor of sport management at Indiana University
  • Distinguished Alumni — Physical Education: Ellington Darden (physical education Ph.D. ’72), exercise researcher and author
  • Distinguished Educator: Erika Lowery (social studies education B.S. ’96), secondary social studies coordinator for Denton Independent School District in Denton, Texas
  • Lifetime Achievement: Shirley Green-Reese (educational leadership/administration Ph.D. ’86), education, Title IX, and collegiate sports-related issues consultant

You can view the event program here.



About the awards
Established in 1985, the College of Education Distinguished Alumni Awards provides an avenue of honoring graduates of the college who have distinguished themselves through scholarly, creative and humanitarian achievement and service to their profession. Learn more at education.fsu.edu/daa.